The origin of Taft goes back to the formation of the
Coleman-Fulton Pasture Company in 1880 later known as the Taft
Ranch. In 1900, a transition from ranching to farming began.
In 1904, the Taft Ranch put 200 acres into cultivated cotton
acreage. By 1909, there were 2,300 acres in cultivation.
In 1903, the Company established a store at Mesquital, a railroad
spur serving a series of loading pens, and in 1904, a town was
formed at this site between Gregory and Sinton, and it was renamed
In 1909, Taft began to experience the initial stages of
development. The first school was sectioned off in an old
warehouse in 1904. The first industry in Taft was a cotton
gin. The railroad located a passenger depot in Taft in 1908.
In 1909, an assembly hall was completed, and President William
Howard Taft paid his famous visit. In August 1921, the
Taft Independent School District was formed. In 1921, the Taft
Tribune began publication, and in 1923, the First State Bank and the
First National Bank were organized. Taft was incorporated as a
municipality in 1929.
With the motto of "OUR FOCUS IS CHILDREN", Taft ISD is widely
recognized for its progressive school system. The District is
committed to instill in students the necessary skills to be
competitive in the rapidly changing work places of the future.
The Board of Education declares its aim to provide the best
educational opportunities possible to enable all students to
succeed, both personally and as citizens of the state and nation.